Friends of Tricycle Records Compilation Vol. 8

Download Compilation

About the Artists

“She’s Always a Woman” Billy Joel cover by Geographer

Geographer is the moniker for Mike Deni’s American synth pop/indie rock band based in San Francisco / Los Angeles , California. Formed in 2007, Deni has described his sound as being “soulful music from outer space” using analog, electronic and acoustic elements to craft dense layers and unique sound textures. As Geographer, Deni has released three full-length albums, Innocent Ghosts in 2008, Myth in 2012, and Ghost Modern in 2015; along with two (EPs), Animal Shapes (Tricycle Records) in 2010, Endless Motion in 2015. His newest EP, Alone Time was released in March of this year.

Written by Billy Joel
Vocals by Mike Deni (Geographer), Prophet 6 Synthesizer by Jim Greer
Engineeded by Jim Greer

Waking Up by Film School

“Waking Up” is a track off Bright to Death, Film School’s fifth album and first full-length since 2011’s Fission. Recorded over 8 days in November 2017 on the outskirts of Joshua Tree, this luminescent collection of 11 songs is the finest showcase yet for the band’s signature layered sonic tones, psychedelic atmospheres, and seductive melodies.

Written by Film School
Mixed by Dan Long
Mastered by David S. Gardner
Produced by Film School and Dan Long

“Bruises” by El Elle

“Provocative solo artist El Elle, aka Lisa Light of cultish favorites The Lovemakers…is a showstopper. She blends mod style and sonic substance, analog synth with bass and whispery, dreamy vocals, Beyoncé-slick moves — and butts, in her video for “Heartbeat” — and Kate Bush-esque organic songwriting” -SFBG

Written by Lisa Light
Produced by Jim Greer
Mixed by Reto Peter
Mastered by Jim Greer

“Life Inside The Mess You Made ” by Andrew St. James

San Francisco native and singer-songwriter Andrew St. James is a rare talent who has single handedly combined San Francisco’s beatnik past with it’s willfully high-tech future. St James writes and performs music that lives up to the mythology created by Neil Young, Jerry Garcia and Jack Kerouac while easily meeting the bar set by current luminaries such as Father John Misty, Ryan Adams, and other keepers of the singer-songwriter flame. But Andrew St James is in a class of his own, as a listen to any of his recorded work will make readily apparent.

Written by Andrew St. James
Recorded and mixed by Jim Greer
Produced by Jim Greer and Andrew St.James
Mastered by Jonathan Kichner

“Set Fire” by Saski

Saski is an independent electronic pop artist from New Zealand, currently living & working in San Francisco. With no backing from any labels, management or publishers, Saski has over 7 million streams on Spotify alone and has been featured on Pigeon and Planes, Beats 1 Radio for breaking artist, Coup de Main for 2018 Must-Know Artist, Hype Machine, Hillydilly, Pause Musicale and more.

Written by Mikhail Birch and Producer, Josh Fountain
Mixed & Master – Djeisan Suskov

“Mona Take Me Home” by Goodnight, Texas

This is the transcontinental garage Appalachian collaboration of San Francisco’s Avi Vinocur (formerly of The Stone Foxes) and North Carolina’s Patrick Dyer Wolf. “San Francisco’s Goodnight, Texas premiered “Jesse Got Trapped in a Coal Mine” with American Songwriter magazine last Wednesday, and trust us – you’ll want to hear it.” – The Bay Bridged

Written and Recorded by: Goodnight, Texas (Patrick Dyer Wolf, Avi Vinocur, Alex Nash, Scott Griffin Padden)
Mixed by: Scott McDowell at Hyde St. Studio C
Mastered by: Jonathan Kirchner

“Sketch of Love” by Lalin

Lalin is a Haitian-American singer/songwriter based in the Bay Area. A self-taught musician with a knack for melting hearts, Lalin’s music includes exploration of identity, the power of rewriting narratives, and the nuances of intimacy in our relationships. Possessing a firm belief that the personal is political, Lalin is inspired by a lineage running from Erykah Badu to Nick Drake. She is the front woman for The Seshen.

Written and Recorded by Lalin St Juste
Mixed and Mastered by Aki Ehara at Sleepy Wizard Studios

“Everybody Wants to Shake Your Hand” by DonCat

DONCAT is Duncan Nielsen, a San Francisco based songwriter and performer with a penchant for rock, soul and folk stylings. His songs draw from the deep history of California counter-culture music and discuss both the hope and uncertainty of the American dream in subtle cynicism.

Recorded at El Studio in San Francisco, engineering and mixing by Chris Sugiura, Produced by Duncan Nielsen, Mastered by Jonathan Kirchner. Guitars and Vox by me Duncan Nielsen with an ie and an e, not NELSON as so many like to spell it. Drums by Kyle Kelly-Yahner, Bass by Chris Sugiura, Organ by Andrew St James.

“Wishing Song” by Everyone Is Dirty

Everyone Is Dirty is a fierce & freaky female fronted rock & roll juggernaut out of Oakland California.

Recorded and Mixed at Donut Time Audio by Chris Daddio
Mastered by Myles Boisen

“Here Come The Tops” by Muñecas

SF band that mixes punk/dark wave and garage rock with post-colonial drag responding their experiences as latinx in this fucked up country. Tamale Ringald on guitar/keys/vox, Cholula Calinete on bass/vox and Horchata La Shy Gurl on drums/vox.

Recorded at Sabetha Studios in Royal Oaks, CA by Ken Lyons and Munecas
Mastered by Travis Kasperbauer

“Your Words” by Zachary Blizzard

Zach Blizzard is the lead singer and main songwriter for the experimental / dark / folk duo Girl-Face, and Indie Rock band Cannons & Clouds. He is currently performing and touring either solo, or with Girl-Face. Blizzard has been writing songs prior to leaving Inland Empire, Garage/Art-Rock band Jenoah in 2005 as drummer returning to his native Northern California / San Francisco.

Written by Grace Wiebenga and Zachary Blizzard
Mixed and Produced by Zachary Blizzard

“Samuel” by Perhapsy

Perhapsy is the solo project of musician/graphic-artist Derek Barber, guitarist and songwriter of Bay Area-based groups Curls (Christopher Owens of Girls), Bells Atlas, and previous contributor to Astronauts, etc. and Madeline Kenney. Kingdom Starlight Bliss is the new and third full-length record by Perhapsy now available through Porch Party Records.

Derek Barber (vox, guitars, bass, keys), Aaron Gold (drums)
Mixed by Carlos Arredondo & Derek Barber
Mastered by Carlos Arredondo

“Away We Go ” by Lapel

After years as a backing vocalist and keyboardist sitting in with bands like Ezra Furman, Curls (Christopher Owens of Girls), and The Family Crest, Debbie Neigher has stepped out on her own with Lapel, a new solo project from this San Francisco music scene veteran. By turns playful and personal, introspective and danceable, Lapel’s debut record Periphery — co-produced by Beau Sorenson (Death Cab for Cutie, tUnEyArDs, Bob Mould) and Neigher herself —marks a new sound for the artist, trading the piano-based indie pop of her past solo releases for an immersive electronic sound, with contributions from members of Geographer, Astronauts, Etc., and the Magik*Magik Orchestra.

Written by Lapel
Recorded and mixed by Beau Sorenson at Tiny Telephone Recording in San Francisco
Mastered by Greg Calbi at Sterling Sound in New York City

Download Compilation


Track Listing

  1. Always a Woman To Me Geographer
  2. Waking Up Film School
  3. Bruises El Elle
  4. Life Inside The Mess You Made Andrew St. James
  5. Set Fire Saski
  6. Mona Take Me Home Goodnight, Texas
  7. Sketch of Love Lalin
  8. Everybody Wants to Shake Your Hand DonCat
  9. Wishing Song Everyone Is Dirty
  10. Your Words Zach Blizzard (feat Grace)
  11. Here Come The Tops Muñecas
  12. Samual Perhapsy
  13. Away We Go Lapel

Compiled by: Julie Schuchard and Andrew St. James
Mastered by: Jim Greer
Artwork by: Adrian Landon Brooks



Be Part of the Tricycle Gang

Tricycle Records 10yr Anniversary Bag
$10 Free Shipping